Map: 8 More States Receive NCLB Waivers

Another eight states received waivers from federal education requirements under the No Child Left Behind law. See which ones they are.
by | May 30, 2012

Another eight states received waivers from federal education requirements under No Child Left Behind, the U.S. Department of Education announced Tuesday.

Connecticut, Delaware, Louisiana, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio and Rhode Island were granted waivers after applying in February. That brings the number of states receiving NCLB waivers to 17. Another 19 currently have applications pending with the Education Department, and several others have indicated their intention to apply for waivers by the next deadline, Sept. 6.

Seven of the eight states (excluding Connecticut) granted waivers Tuesday have also been awarded Race To The Top funding, the White House's competitive education grant program.

The Obama administration initiated the waiver program last fall when it became apparent that Congress would not immediately pass a bill reauthorizing NCLB. The waivers provide relief from some of the more difficult requirements of the education law (such as the 100 percent proficiency in math and reading deadline for 2014) as long as states commit to reforms dictated by the Education Department.

View Governing's map of the NCLB waiver process below.

Application approved
Application approval pending
Intend to submit application
No application submitted

NOTE: Alaska has not submitted an application and Hawaii intends to submit one. Information is current as of May 2012.

Join the Discussion

After you comment, click Post. You can enter an anonymous Display Name or connect to a social profile.

More from Education