Same Sex Marriage Map, State Laws List

Thirty-seven states and the District of Columbia currently allow for gay marriage: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Most recently, a U.S. District Court ruling overturned Alabama's same-sex marriage ban. However, the Alabama Supreme Court later issued an order challenging the federal court ruling.

The majority of Americans now live in states that have legalized same-sex marriage. Most other states have enacted constitutional or statutory bans on same-sex marriage, known as "Defense of Marriage" Acts.

The Supreme Court announced in January that it will decide whether the Constitution mandates same-sex marriage and whether states are permitted to limit it. So, it's possible that the remaining gay marriage bans might not be relevant much longer.

The following same-sex marriage map shows laws by state, current as of April. 2, 2015. Click a state for details.


Same-Sex Marriage Map

NOTE: Please zoom out to view Alaska and Hawaii

State Legislation
Same-sex marriage legalized
Civil unions or domestic partnerships
Constitutional or statutory provisions prohibiting same-sex marriage


More from Politics