Governing Institute’s Women in Government Program Highlights Outstanding Contributions of Women in Public Service

Diversity of experience and perspective in organizations is powerful. This is especially true in representative government. The Governing Institute celebrates the contributions that the 25 members selected for the Class of 2016 make every day as public servants. They give voice to critical issues, are genuinely interested in what is best for their constituents and add a diversity of opinion that makes our democracy better. They are knowledgeable, driven and courageous, and we express our gratitude and respect for their service.

This cohort of the Women in Government Leadership Program comprises the second class of the Governing Institute's special initiative. The program creates a bipartisan, national network of women thought leaders. The members will build relationships across city and state boundaries. They will meet together throughout the year for leadership development and job-critical training. And they'll serve as mentors for future generations of women serving in government. 

I'm honored to extend our congratulations to the Women in Government Leadership Program Class of 2016!

-- Julia Burrows, director of the Governing Institute


About the Program

The Women in Government Leadership Program was created in 2014 as an ongoing, program of the Governing Institute. Each summer, 25 women serving in state and local offices will be selected to participate in the bipartisan national program.

Statistics from academic institutions including the Center for American Women in Politics (CAWP) at Rutgers University clearly show the number of women in elected office in local and state offices has largely remained stagnant since the early 1990s.The Governing Institute is making a deliberate and strategic effort to invest in programs and resources that support elected women in government. The Women in Government Leadership Program is one such program and has three primary goals.

First, to acknowledge and celebrate the work of women public servants by highlighting them in Governing.

Second, to provide leadership training and job critical skills during three in-person retreats where the cohort establishes relationships and a network with their class and program alumnae.

Third, the participants will be asked to pay it forward by mentoring the next generation of women running for office. We look forward to seeing the power and impact of these influential women now and in the future.

To nominate an individual for the Class of 2017, click here


2016 Honorees

Raumesh Akbari

State Representative, Tennessee

Carol Alvarado

State Representative, Texas

Marlene Anielski

State Representative, Ohio

Gail McCann Beatty

State Representative, Missouri

Stephanie Bice

State Senator, Oklahoma

Mary Ann Borgeson

Commissioner, Douglas County, Nebraska

Rebecca Casper

Mayor, Idaho Falls, Idaho

Toni Carter

Commissioner, Ramsey County, Minnesota

Joy Cooper

Mayor, Hallandale Beach, Florida

Wendy Horman

State Representative, Idaho

Lindsey Horvath

Mayor, West Hollywood, California

Adrienne Jones

State Delegate, Maryland

Linda Langston

Supervisor, Linn County, Iowa

Andrea Lea

State Auditor, Arkansas

Charisse Millett

House Majority Leader, Alaska

Amy Murray

City Councilmember, Cincinnati

Erin Oban

State Senator, North Dakota

Cherrish Pryor

State Representative, Indiana

Brenda Roberts

Auditor, Oakland, California

Loretta Smith

Commissioner, Multnomah County, Oregon

Melanie Stambaugh

State Representative, Washington

Shelley Taub

Commissioner, Oakland County, Michigan

Ivy Taylor

Mayor, San Antonio, Texas

Michelle Wu

City Council President, Boston

Sarah Besnoff

U.S. District Court Clerk, Eastern District, Pennsylvania