State Marijuana Laws Map

Twenty-three states and the District of Columbia currently have laws legalizing marijuana in some form.

Four states have legalized marijuana for recreational use. In Alaska, adults 21 and older can now transport, buy or possess up to an ounce of marijuana and six plants. Oregon voters approved a similar measure allowing adults to posses up to an ounce of marijuana in public and 8 ounces in their homes, set to take effect July 1. Colorado and Washington previously passed similar ballot measures legalizing marijuana in 2012.

In February, a measure approved by voters went into effect in the District of Columbia that legalizes possession of small amounts of marijuana.

Other states have passed medical marijuana laws allowing for limited use of cannabis. Some medical marijuana laws are broader than others, with types of medical conditions that allow for treatment varying from state to state. Others states (not shown on the map below) have passed laws allowing residents to possess cannabis oil if they suffer from certain medical illnesses. Most recently, Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal signed a law legalizing the possession of up to 20 ounces of cannabis oil..

The map below show states legalizing marijuana use for medical and recreational purposes.

Information below is current as of April 17, 2015.

Marijuana Legalization Status
Medical marijuana legalized
Marijuana legalized for recreational use
No laws legalizing marijuana

More from Public Safety & Justice