Same Sex Marriage Map, State Laws List


Thirty-five states and the District of Columbia have legalized gay marriage: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

The Supreme Court recently declined to weigh in on lower-court rulings that overturned same-sex marriage bans in several states, effectively allowing couples to wed in those states..

The majority of Americans now live in states that have legalized same-sex marriage. Most other states have enacted constitutional or statutory bans on same-sex marriage, known as "Defense of Marriage" Acts.

The following same-sex marriage map shows laws by state, current as of Nov. 24, 2014. Click a state for details.


Same-Sex Marriage Map

NOTE: Please zoom out to view Alaska and Hawaii

State Legislation
Same-sex marriage legalized
Civil unions or domestic partnerships
Constitutional or statutory provisions prohibiting same-sex marriage


More from Politics