Flash Flood Warning: Governors Declare States of Emergency

August 16, 2018 AT 9:35 AM

The governors of New York and New Jersey have declared states of emergency in multiple areas following damage from flash flooding over the past few days.

New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy has declared a state of emergency in Bergen, Essex, Monmouth, Ocean and Passaic counties and New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo declared a state of emergency for portions of Finger Lakes, Southern Tier and Central New York.

The declaration allows for the extension of state resources, as necessary and as requested, into communities most directly impacted by flooding as a result of the torrential rains.

Nearly 8 inches of rain fell in Brick Township, New Jersey on Monday - almost two months of rain in a matter of hours as rescuers evacuated dozens of people from their homes and vehicles.

About 85 homes remained without power Tuesday as residents tried to salvage whatever they could from flooded homes.

View Full Story From ABC7