South Carolina Governor Signs Abortion Law That's Likely to Bring Lawsuits

South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley signed into law Wednesday a ban on abortion at 20 weeks of pregnancy or later.
by | May 26, 2016 AT 12:45 PM

By Jamie Self

South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley signed into law Wednesday a ban on abortion at 20 weeks of pregnancy or later.

An abortion at 20 weeks of pregnancy or later, calculated as the weeks past fertilization, is allowed under the law in the case of a severe fetal anomaly that would prevent the child from surviving with or without treatment.

The law also allows exceptions if a doctor says an abortion is necessary to protect the mother from death or severe bodily impairment.

The ban offers no exceptions for rape or incest -- omissions that opponents say will harm some of the state's most vulnerable women.

Similar laws in other states have been struck down as unconstitutional in the courts.

The U.S. Supreme Court, which has said abortion is legal through the second trimester, has not weighed in on whether 20-week abortion bans are unconstitutional.

(c)2016 The State (Columbia, S.C.)