DeVos Approves 2 More States' Customized Education Plans

May 17, 2018 AT 9:30 AM

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos has given the thumbs up to two more state Every Student Succeeds Act plans: Alaska and Iowa.

That brings the total number of states with approved plans to 44, plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. Still waiting for the OK: California, Florida, Nebraska, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Utah.

Alaska is working local interim tests into its accountability system  as a measure of school quality or student success for elementary schools.

View Full Story From Education Week