Internet Explorer 11 is not supported

For optimal browsing, we recommend Chrome, Firefox or Safari browsers.

State Medicaid Expansion Map

This map tracks the status of Medicaid expansion across states.

Medicaid provides health insurance for millions of low-income, disabled and elderly Americans. While all 50 states participate in the federal program, eligibility requirements vary by state.

Thirty-one states have expanded Medicaid coverage to insure additional patients under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA). In states that have expanded coverage, Medicaid eligibility is available to individuals reporting incomes up to 138 percent of the federal poverty level, which varies depending on the size of a household. For a family of three, the 2017 federal poverty level was $20,420.

Of the states adopting Medicaid expansion, some have done so via Section 1115 waivers. They include Arizona, Arkansas, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Montana and New Hampshire.

Following the failure of the Republican-controlled Congress to overhaul the ACA, lawmakers in several states expressed interest in expanding coverage. New attempts to expand Medicaid coverage remain viable in at least three states: Georgia, Maine and North Carolina.

The Kansas state legislature voted to expand coverage in March, but Gov. Sam Brownback vetoed the bill. Republican-controlled legislatures in Missouri, Virginia and Wyoming similarly rejected Medicaid expansion proposals earlier this year.

The following map tracks the status of Medicaid expansion in each state:

No Medicaid Expansion  
Adopted Medicaid Expansion  
Considering Medicaid Expansion

SOURCE: Kaiser Family Foundation, news reports
Last updated: April 10, 2017


Special Projects