Internet Explorer 11 is not supported

For optimal browsing, we recommend Chrome, Firefox or Safari browsers.

About Us

GOV21-About-Page.jpg

Governing provides news, analysis and insights for the professionals leading America’s states and localities.

Published since 1987, Governing is a trusted source of record for elected, appointed and other public leaders looking to manage the present and anticipate the future of state and local government.

Our Mission & Vision:

Today’s state and local leaders govern during a period of dramatic shifts in technology, demography, climate and the economy that are driving societal transformation. Governing: The Future of States and Localities takes on the question of what state and local government looks like in this world of rapid change.

Our mission is to be a reliable and essential resource to help public leaders successfully navigate these emerging challenges and dynamics.

To achieve this mission, Governing has assembled a team of experienced journalists, policy experts, historians, scholars and former public officials. Together, they offer an intelligent take on the operational, policy and ethical implications of these societal changes on state and local government found nowhere else.

Governing’s beat is as broad as the challenges facing our readers, including:

  • Dramatically shifting demographics 
  • Changing nature of work, education and economic development
  • Climate, the environment and sustainability
  • Long-term social and economic equity
  • Future of urban and rural America 
  • Aging and neglected infrastructure 
  • Massive technological transformation including AI, cybersecurity and privacy, next-generation communications technology, and autonomous transportation 
  • Internal migration — exploring the reasons (economic, political, environmental, etc.) why people adopt new places
  • Politics, civics and the health of democratic systems  

Audience & Platform:

Governing’s readership consists of governors, mayors, county executives, city and county council members, state legislators, state and local agency executives and those holding key professional government positions.

Governing’s readers set the priorities, decide the strategies and budgets and manage the programs involving more than $3 trillion in annual spending by more than 15 million state and local government employees.

Governing’s all-digital information platform includes a robust mobile-first website, newsletters and custom content. Governing continues four decades of policy-informed journalism and storytelling, the first 32 years of which were as a print magazine.

Launched in 1987 by Congressional Quarterly, Governing was acquired in 2009 by e.Republic, the nation’s only media and research company focused exclusively on state and local government. e.Republic is also home to Government Technology, the Center for Digital Government, the Center for Digital Education and Techwire.

Editorial

Editor in Chief:
Dennis McKenna
dmckenna@governing.com

Executive Editor:
Paul W. Taylor
ptaylor@governing.com

Editor:
Tod Newcombe
tnewcombe@governing.com

Senior Editors:
John Martin
johndmartin@rocketmail.com

Alan Ehrenhalt
aehrenhalt@governing.com

Associate Editor:
Tricia Dugan
tdugan@governing.com

Editor-at-Large:
Clay S. Jenkinson
cjenkinson@governing.com

Senior Staff Writers:
Alan Greenblatt
agreenblatt@governing.com

Carl Smith
carl.smith@governing.com

Jake Blumgart
jblumgart@governing.com

Photojournalist and Storyteller:
David Kidd
dkidd@governing.com

Web Producer and Writer:
Zoe Manzanetti
zmanzanetti@governing.com

Contributing Editors:
Noelle Knell
nknell@governing.com

Russ Eagle
russeagle@me.com

Futures and Innovation Editor:
Dustin Haisler
dhaisler@governing.com

Research Editor:
Joe Morris
jmorris@governing.com

Enterprise Copy Desk:
Kate Albrecht
kalbrecht@governing.com

Kali Tedrow
ktedrow@govtech.com

Editorial Assistant:
Andi Wong
awong@governing.com

Columnists and Contributors:
Scott Beyer
Lindsay Chervinsky
Stephen Goldsmith
Don Kettl
Alex Marshall
Michael Hendrix
Girard Miller
Aaron Renn
Jabari Simama
Pete Saunders
Mark Weatherford