GOVERNING is the nation's leading media platform covering politics, policy and management for state and local government leaders. Recognized as the most credible and authoritative voice in its field, GOVERNING provides nonpartisan news, insight and analysis on such issues as public finance, transportation, economic development, health, energy, the environment and technology.

GOVERNING magazine began publication in 1987 and has a circulation of approximately 85,000. The core of GOVERNING's readership consists of elected, appointed and career officials in state and local government, including governors, mayors, county executives, city and county council members, state legislators, executives of state and local agencies, and those holding professional government positions such as attorneys, public accountants, engineers and educators.

According to the 2011 Erdos & Morgan Opinion Leaders Survey, a highly regarded study of media influence, GOVERNING Magazine is the 2nd most widely read print publication for state and local government leaders after USA Today and the # 3 most influential after The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times. The Erdos Survey also found that state and local leaders rank GOVERNING the # 1 most credible print publication and the # 2 most objective and most current publication after The Wall Street Journal and USA Today, respectively.

In the 2012 Erdos & Morgan survey, was top rated - #1 - among state and local leaders in three categories - most visited (ahead of NCSL, Fox News, Politico, and CNN), most objective and most current.

GOVERNING's readership also includes journalists, academics, advocates and activists, as well as representatives of companies that do business with state and local governments, a market that spends $3.2 trillion annually and employs 20 million people.

GOVERNING has received numerous editorial awards and recognitions over the years, including four National Magazine Awards nominations, the Folio Editorial Excellence Award and in 2011, the prestigious Jesse H. Neal award from American Business Media for exceptional editorial content.

Regional and national media look to GOVERNING for authoritative news and analysis. USA Today, NPR, Fortune, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, 60 Minutes and Dateline NBC all have cited GOVERNING articles in their reports.

In 2011 the GOVERNING Institute was established with the aim to advance better government by improving performance and outcomes through research, decision support and executive education.

Based in Washington D.C., GOVERNING was for many years part of Congressional Quarterly. In 2009, GOVERNING was acquired by e.Republic, the nation’s only media and research company focused exclusively on public-sector innovation for state and local government and education. e.Republic is also home to Government Technology, Emergency Management and the Center for Digital Government.



Dr. Mark Funkhouser


Executive Editor
Zach Patton

Managing Editor
Elizabeth Daigneau

Senior Editors
Alan Ehrenhalt

Paul W. Taylor

Contributing Editors
Penelope Lemov
John Martin

Data Editor
Mike Maciag Senior Editor
Caroline Cournoyer Web Writer and Producer
Candice Norwood

Staff Writers and Correspondents
John Buntin
Liz Farmer
Alan Greenblatt
Mattie Quinn
Daniel C. Vock

Columnists and Contributors
Louis Jacobson, Politics
Katherine Barrett and Richard Greene, Management
Donald F. Kettl, Potomac Chronicle
David Levine, Health
Alex Marshall, Transportation
Mark Funkhouser, Better Government
Justin Marlowe, Public Money
Nicole Gelinas, Transportation + Infrastructure
Anne Kim, Public Money
Peter Harkness, Founder and Publisher Emeritus


Photo Editor
David Kidd

Graphic Designer
Kale Mendonca

Production Director
Stéphän Widmaïer

Production Manager



Dr. Mark Funkhouser



National Event Director
 Tricia Dugan


Associate Publishers
Kim Frame
Shelley Ballard

Strategic Account Directors
Melissa Sellers

Chief Customer Success Officer
Arlene Boeger


Office Manager
Alina Grant

Dir. of Online Ad Operations
Adam Fowler

Director of Content Studio
Jeana Bigham

Subscription Coordinator
Eenie Yang

Advertise with GOVERNING


Dennis McKenna

Cathilea Robinett

Executive VP
Alan Cox

Lisa Harney

Paul Harney

Chief Design Officer
Kelly Martinelli

VP Research
Joe Morris


Subscription/circulation inquiries: Contact us at (800) 940-6039 x1460 (toll-free) or

GOVERNING is a staff-written magazine and does not accept unsolicited submissions for publication. From time to time, the GOVERNING Institute will accept submitted material to appear in the Voices section of Contact the Institute about Voices.