State Health Insurance Exchange Implementation Map

The Affordable Care Act gives states the option to establish their own health insurance exchanges or allow the federal government to do so.

So far, 17 states and the District of Columbia are pursuing state exchanges, receiving federal grants. Another seven states will have what are called state partnership health exchanges, sharing responsibilities with the federal government.

For the remaining 26 states, HHS will set up federally-facilitated health insurance exchanges.

Information current as of May 2013.

NOTE: Please zoom out to view Alaska and Hawaii. Source: CMS

Type of Health Exchange
Federal exchange
State-based exchange