About GOVERNING

Governing: The Future of States and Localities takes on the question of what state and local government looks like in a world of rapidly advancing technology. Governing is a resource for elected and appointed officials and other public leaders who are looking for smart insights and a forum to better understand and manage through this era of change.

Governing’s beat is the collision of technology and society and the fallout consequences, intended and unintended, that confront public leaders and increasingly influence their policy, legislation and strategies to govern. The scope of topics we cover are as broad as the challenges we face: artificial intelligence, privacy, big data, security, the future of work, urban planning, financial systems and more.

Governing’s audience consists of governors, mayors, county executives, city and county council members, state legislators, state and local agency executives and those holding key professional government positions.

Governing's information platform includes a robust website, newsletters and custom content.

Originally launched in 1987 by Congressional Quarterly, Governing was acquired in 2009 by e.Republic, the nation’s only media and research company focused exclusively on state and local government. e.Republic is also home to Government Technology, the Center for Digital Government, the Center for Digital Education and Techwire.

Governing: The Future of States and Localities takes on the question of what state and local government looks like in a world of rapidly advancing technology. Governing is a resource for elected and appointed officials and other public leaders who are looking for smart insights and a forum to better understand and manage through this era of change.

Governing’s beat is the collision of technology and society and the fallout consequences, intended and unintended, that confront public leaders and increasingly influence their policy, legislation and strategies to govern. The scope of topics we cover are as broad as the challenges we face: artificial intelligence, privacy, big data, security, the future of work, urban planning, financial systems and more.

Governing’s audience consists of governors, mayors, county executives, city and county council members, state legislators, state and local agency executives and those holding key professional government positions.

Governing's information platform includes a robust website, newsletters and custom content. Governing magazine ended its 32 year run as a print publication in August 2019.

Originally launched in 1987 by Congressional Quarterly, Governing was acquired in 2009 by e.Republic, the nation’s only media and research company focused exclusively on state and local government. e.Republic is also home to Government Technology, the Center for Digital Government, the Center for Digital Education and Techwire.

Editor in Chief:
Dennis McKenna
dmckenna@governing.com

Editor:
Paul W. Taylor
ptaylor@governing.com

Managing Editor:
Tod Newcombe
tnewcombe@governing.com

Contributing Editor:
Noelle Knell
nknell@governing.com

Senior Editor:
John D. Martin
johndmartin@rocketmail.com

Senior Staff Writer:
Alan Greenblatt
agreenblatt@governing.com

Photojournalist and Storyteller:
David Kidd
dkidd@governing.com

Contributing Writer:
Carl Smith

Web Producer and Writer:
Zoe Manzanetti
zmanzanetti@governing.com
 
Futures and Innovation Editor:
Dustin Haisler
dhaisler@governing.com

Research Editor:
Joe Morris
jmorris@governing.com

Enterprise Copy Desk:
Miriam Jones
mjones@governing.com

Kate Albrecht
kalbrecht@governing.com

Editorial Assistant:
Andi Wong
awong@governing.com

Columnists and Contributors:

Chris Adams
Ryan Coonerty
Bill Eggers
Andy Feldman
Stephen Goldsmith
Maia Jachimowicz
James Keene
Phil Keisling
Ron Littlefield
Alex Marshall
Theresa Reno-Weber
Jabari Simami
Sue Urahn

Zach Presnall
Director of Digital Marketing
zpresnall@governing.com

Web Developer
Nick Bakkie
nbakkie@governing.com