The repeal of a Michigan state law that requires motorcycle riders to wear a helmet passed the state House on Wednesday, the Associated Press reports.
The measure received a 69-39 vote and now heads to the state Senate for changes and approval. It would allow riders 21 years and older to ride without a helmet if they meet certain insurance and experience requirements, according to the news agency. Riders must have operated a motorcycle for two years or passed a safety course to ride without a helmet. They must also have at least $20,000 in insurance coverage in the event of an accident.
Supporters of repeal say the law prevents out-of-state riders from visiting Michigan, according to the AP, and that wearing a helmet should be a personal choice. Opponents say a repeal could result in more deaths and injuries and add to insurance costs.
It is unclear what Gov. Rick Snyder would do if the bill reached his desk, the AP reports. Two previous repeals of the law were vetoed by his predecessor, Gov. Jennifer Granholm.