Governing Leadership Forum: Virginia 2017

Oct 17, 2017
Richmond, VA


Governing invites you to join us in Richmond for the second annual Virginia Leadership Forum! Spend the day with us to network, be inspired, and leave with a renewed sense of purpose to take action. From the fundamentals of good government to forecasting the future, the agenda will have critical information for every participant’s personal and professional development. The Virginia Advisory Board and Governing’s team assembles a speaker lineup second to none with national thought leaders and local subject matter experts who describe the challenges in serving the public while detailing pragmatic solutions. Register today to join Governing and your colleagues at the 2017 Governing Virginia Leadership Forum.

This Year's Topics Include:

  • Communication Strategies – Which Channel for Which Audience?
  • A Roadmap for Success: Building World Class Teams
  • Innovation in a Transparent World
  • High Performance Government – Case Studies on Effective Programs
  • World Class Customer Service
  • Innovations in Managing Spending

A message from our Keynote Speaker


More Less
View MoreLess Speakers





Richmond Marriott

500 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 643-3400

Get Directions To

Advisory Board

Government Representatives

Amy M. Atkinson
Executive Director
Virginia Commission on Youth

The Honorable Ruby Brabo
County Supervisor
King George County

David Brown
Director of Administration
Department of Health Professions
Commonwealth of Virginia

Joseph Casey
County Administrator
Office of the County Administrator
Chesterfield County

Suzette Denslow
Deputy Chief of Staff
Office of the Governor
Commonwealth of Virginia

Manju Ganeriwala
State Treasurer
Department of The Treasury
Commonwealth of Virginia

Robert Gleason
Department of General Services / Division of Purchases & Supply
Commonwealth of Virginia

The Honorable Todd Haymore
Secretary of Commerce and Trade
Office of the Governor
Commonwealth of Virginia

Ellen Marie Hess
Virginia Employment Commission
Commonwealth of Virginia

Karen Jackson
Secretary of Technology
Commonwealth of Virginia

Aubrey Layne, Jr.
Secretary of Transportation
Commonwealth of Virginia

Kimberley Lipp
Chief, Architectural and Engineering Services
Department of Corrections
Commonwealth of Virginia

Dean Lynch
Executive Director
Virginia Association of Counties

Evelyn McGill
Executive Director
Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission
Commonwealth of Virginia

Brian Moran
Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security
Office of the Governor
Commonwealth of Virginia

Diane Powers
Director of Communications
Department of Health Professions
Commonwealth of Virginia

Paul Reagan
Chief of Staff
Office of the Governor
Commonwealth of Virginia

Nancy Rodrigues
Secretary of Administration
Commonwealth of Virginia

Felix Sarfo-Kantanka, Jr.
Deputy Secretary of Administration
Commonwealth of Virginia

Jeffrey Stoke
Deputy County Administrator
Prince George County

Bonnie Svrcek
City Manager
City of Lynchburg

The Honorable David Toscano
Minority Leader/Delegate
House of Delegates
Commonwealth of Virginia

The Honorable Donnie Tuck
City of Hampton

Robert Vaughn
Director, House Appropriations Committee
General Assembly
Commonwealth of Virginia

Molly Ward
Secretary of Natural Resources
Commonwealth of Virginia

Industry Representatives

Tyler Duval
Public Sector and Infrastructure
McKinsey & Company

Matt Gibbons
Senior Sales Director

Damian Kelly
Managing Director, Health & Public Service
State & Local Government

Travis Sarkees
General Manager
Virginia Interactive / NIC

Summit Exhibitors Made Possible by Our Corporate Partners

Registration Information / Contact Us

Event Date: October 17, 2017

Open to Public Sector only.

Registration - Free

If you represent a Private Sector organization and are interested in attending the Event, please contact Heather Earney, (916) 932-1435.

Contact Information


For registration and general assistance contact:
Shayna Mayen
Phone: (916) 932-1314 
E-mail: smayen@governing.com

ailable. For more information, contact:

Heather Earney
Phone: (916) 932-1435
E-mail: heather.earney@governing.com


Richmond Marriott

500 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 643-3400

Show More Show Less


Phone: 804-643-3400
Group Rate: $169/single
LINK for reservations: https://aws.passkey.com/go/cf917517
Deadline for group rate reservations: September 22, 2017
*Please reference ‘Governing Leadership Forum’ when making your reservations to receive our group rate. The group rate is only valid October 16-17. If you attempt to make reservations outside the event date, rate and availability are not guaranteed.

Maps and Directions

Take I-64W to 5th Street Exit (190). Hotel is three blocks on left. 


Valet parking: $27 USD daily
Self-parking is available at several nearby parking lots and garages not managed by Marriott.


The hotel does not offer airport shuttle service. Taxi fare from Richmond International airport is approximately $40.00 USD one way