Give Us Your Aquafinas, Your Deer Parks, Your Fijis
Water bottles in Oregon are about to get a little more valuable. Gov. Ted Kulongoski has signed into law a measure that will require Oregon ...
Gov. Ted Kulongoski has signed into law a measure that will require Oregon residents to pay an extra 5-cent deposit for bottles of water. Empty bottles can then be redeemed for the nickel.
There was a terrific article in the New York Times Sunday magazine a couple weeks ago actually, detailing this issue in Oregon and in other states.
Oregon actually had the nation's first deposit legislation -- the Bottle Bill, passed in 1971. Ten other states -- California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Massacusetts, Michigan and New York -- later followed suit, attaching a small value to empty bottles. (They each use a 5-cent deposit, except Michigan, where an empty bottle scores you a dime.)
But all of those laws applied only to soda and beer. In the 1970's, Americans just didn't buy bottled water the way we do now. In 2007, Americans will go through 30 billion bottles of water. That's why environmental advocates were pushing Oregon to update its law to include water bottles.
It's a pretty safe bet that other states -- especially the ones that already have deposit laws on the books -- will follow Oregon's lead again, or at least debate expanding their measures to include water.
Interestingly, the one other thing none of the original bottle bills included was an inflation adjustment. A nickel in 1971 translates to about a penny today. I have a feeling that if empty bottles of beer, soda and water were suddenly valued at 25 cents each, people would be saving them and redeeming them, rather than throwing them away.
Photo via Flickr, from angiesharp29.
Join the Discussion
After you comment, click Post. You can enter an anonymous Display Name or connect to a social profile.
Kasich Gives Up, Likely Leaving Trump the GOP Crown3 hours ago
Governors Top List of Trump's Possible Running Mates4 hours ago
Justice Department to North Carolina: Lose the Anti-LGBT Law or Risk Losing Federal Funds4 hours ago
California Becomes 2nd State to Raise Smoking Age to 214 hours ago
Flint Worker Facing Criminal Charges Takes Plea Deal4 hours ago
In Flint, Obama Tells Residents 'I've Got Your Back'4 hours ago